This palace¬†is one of the Qajar phenomena in the heart of Tehran. Golestan Palace is of the oldest historical place in the capital of Iran. The other name of this Iran‚Äôs tourist attraction is the Palace of Flowers.
When you enter the Golestan palace you will feel the successful integration of earlier Iranian crafts and architecture¬†of Qajar with Western influences of 18th century. This masterpiece was a seat for government of the family of Qajar that came into power in 1779 and made Tehran as the capital of the Iran. In fact it became a heart of arts and architecture of Qajar period. This unique palace is a source of inspiration for Iranian architects and artists till today.
It contains several buildings and halls, including the following:
– Marble Throne Building ¬†was built in 1759 .The royal throne was used for this building. This marble throne was built in 1806. It designed by the royal painter Mirza Baba Shirazi and built by the royal mason Mohammad Ebrahim Esfehani. This beautiful palace is composed of sixty-five pieces of yellow marble from the province of Yazd.
The Karim Khani
The Karim Khani Palace Palace was built in 1759 and dates back to the Zand era.
The Diamond Hall
The Diamond Hall was built in 1801 that is called “Diamond Hall” because of its amazing mirror works.
-The Wind-Tower Building was built in 1813 during the reign of Fath Ali Shah then modified¬†at Nasereddin Shah reign.
-The Hall of Ivory was built in 1863 ¬†within the Nasereddin Shah era it was used for the protecting of gifts that received from other countries.
– The Sun Building was built in 1866 and ¬†it is the tallest building in the Golestan Palace. The king was used this tall building as the king‚Äôs observatory for viewing the city.
-The Special Museum was built in 1874 that included Lobby, the Mirror Hall and Museum Room.
-The Hall of Mirrors is one of the most famous hall of the Palace that was built in 1874 and located west of the Reception Hall and over the frontispiece and stone Iwan in front of lobby of the Golestan palace.
-The Hall of Brilliant Diamonds was built in 1874 then at the Nasereddin Shah era most of the old buildings in Arg were destroyed and replaced again. This hall was used for official meetings with other countries Heads of States and Major ceremonies during Pahlavi period.
-The White Palace was built in 1890 and ¬†its name is because of the color of the stucco and the white marble stones of this unique palace.
– Tent House was the place of royal tents for kings’ trips. It is used for holding temporary exhibition or for small gathering nowadays.
-Dormitory Building was used to accommodate top officials of the country
The Golestan palace consists of two gardens that contain buildings in them. The smaller garden contain Takht-i Marmar garden. A water channel runs down the garden’s center. The wide garden called the Golestan garden which shaped as a square in Golestan Palace‚Äôs plan .